Fix-it-Friday #71

It’s Friday again!  Well, it’s Saturday but iheartfaces is an American website 🙂  I got a bit carried away this week and have come up with 2 edits.

First, the original:

 And my edits:

Number 1 I used Levels to selectively darken areas, particularly the sky as it was over exposed. I also added a touch of blue’s  saturation and a contrast boost.  I also used levels to lighten some of the shadow on the man’s face so I could see more detail in his features.  Lastly I sharpened the image, concentrating on the man and the truck.

Number 2 I used number 1 as the base, but I increased the contrast more and coverted to black and white but added a layer of brown with a gradient map to give it more of a sepia tone.   I love sepia!

It’s interesting to see how other’s choose to edit, I really enjoy it and feel like I learn a heap.  If you want to have a look too, head over to www.iheartfaces.com and check them out.

5 responses

  1. I really enjoy the last edit you did! It truly transformed the picture! Great job!!

    September 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  2. I like the sepia toned edit. That’s pretty unique; I haven’t seen any other edits with sepia tones.

    September 25, 2010 at 9:58 am

  3. Thanks Amy. I really like your black and white version. It’s amazing how removing something from a photo can add so much to it.

    September 25, 2010 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

